VS Code stuck on "Initializing PlatformIO Core..." when opening sidebar tab

Hello,

I am new to PlatformIO, and encountered this problem which doesn’t even let me start:
When I click the sidebar tab for PlatformIO in Visual Studio Code, it is stuck at “Initializing PlatformIO Core…” for multiple minutes before showing the PlatformIO sidepanel:

This does not only happen on the first startup either, but also happens if the tab was not active for some time (e.g. after spending some time in the folder tab).
I am running Windows 10 x64 on a reasonably fast desktop with an i9-9900k, and have a gigibit fiber internet connection.

What I’ve tried so far:

• Uninstalled VS code and deleted its folders Appdata/Roaming/Code and Users/username/.vscode, then reinstalled vs code and the PlatformIO extension (the only other installed extension is C/C++)
  • Disabled Windows Defender Real Time Protection
  • Added Windows Defender exclusions for username/.platformio folder and vs code process
  • unplugged lan cable and tried without active internet connection
  • I have no project or folder open in vs code, and no platforms or libraries installed in pio

This really keeps me from using PlatformIO, so if anyone has a suggestion how to solve or debug this I’d be super grateful!

Best,
Hagen

Hm. Does C:\Users\<user>\.platformio exist?

Does Help → Toggle Developer Tools → Console show anything?

Hi Max,

Thanks for your answer. C:\Users<user>.platformio exists and contains the following:

This is what the developer console shows:

Everything up to but excluding [Extension Host] is in the console before clicking on the platformio sidebar. During the waiting time where it says “Initializing PlatformIO Core…” there are no new messages in the console. Then, after a minute or two, the remaining messages show up and the platformio interface shows up.

Could you try to open any PlatformIO project in VSCode?

The log when a project is open is a bit longer: