Tutorial for creating multi cpp file arduino project

[General Discussion, Idea, Platformio improvement, Mass adaptation]

Dear Platformio Community.

First of all it is great a pleasure for me to finally join in this illustrious community. I have found out about Platformio project on January of this year and ever since have been using it for many of my arduino projects. I use the Atom Text editor which I found to be extremely easy and intuitive to learn and use.

A bit about myself, I am a mechanical engineer from Bangladesh with a passion for robotics and have been using arduino development platform for the past 4 years. I have adequate knowledge in Embedded C but don’t have a lot of experience with C++ or Python.

As great as platformio is, you are all aware of the fact that platformio does not compile multiple cpp files in the same way as arduino concatenates multiple ino files. To illustrate my point,

When I write codes in Arduino IDE, I can split the function bodies from the main ino files into discrete files following a sequential alphabetical naming scheme viz. A.main , B.pid, C.motor etc etc. When I hit the compile button, arduino compiles all these files and their associated header files without any error. Also the other ino files are capable of recognizing public variables, function calls written in libraries by other users installed into the Arduino IDE.

But in platformio, say I make the above files as such, main.cpp, pid.cpp, motor.cpp numerous errors are thrown including missing variable declarations from other libraries, for instance tft declaration of Adafruit GFX library is not recognized in other cpp files EXPECT in the main.cpp file.

Thus every time the project gets complex I am forced to use Arduino IDE in spite of the robustness and ease of coding platformio provides for its users.