The observations, experiences, and challenges I've faced so far on my PlatformIO journey

Hey all,

I’m fairly new to the party and wanted to make a post about how it’s going so far. I have found PlatformIO to be extremely useful and a great alternative to the somewhat limited official Arduino IDE and tools.
However, I’ve been finding myself troubleshooting PatformIO more often than actually working on learning C++ or building a project.

The purpose of this post is to list the things I’ve observed in the hopes that it promotes healthy discussion that results in a better platform in the end. I also need help separating what is expected behavior, what is actually a bug, what is simply an oversight and/or lack of documentation etc, and what is ignorance on my part.

Toolchains appear to be incomplete across host architectures and platforms.

• There is no suitable version of “toolchain-gccarmnoneeabi” for architecture ‘linux_aarch64’ for both “ststm32” and “atmelsam” in PlatformIO 4.3.4, making compiling for those platforms on ‘linux_aarch64’ not possible.
PlatformManager: Installing ststm32
ststm32 @ 6.1.0 is already installed
PackageManager: Installing toolchain-gccarmnoneeabi @ >=1.60301.0,<1.80000.0
Error: Could not find a version that satisfies the requirement '>=1.60301.0,<1.80000.0' for your system 'linux_aarch64'
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PlatformManager: Installing atmelsam
atmelsam @ 4.4.0 is already installed
PackageManager: Installing toolchain-gccarmnoneeabi @ ~1.70201.0
Error: Could not find a version that satisfies the requirement '~1.70201.0' for your system 'linux_aarch64'
  • The “armv7l” architecture does not have this issue and there is an acceptable version of “toolchain-gccarmnoneeabi” available.

The Remote Agent on “armv7l” replaces “contrib-pysite” with version “2.37.0” even if “pio update” has updated to it to version “2.37.191020”.