Noob stuck on ESP32-CAM+MB with PIO/vscode

Hi,
I am a noob on PIO, esp32, vscode and linux, all of which i used to get myself into the problem below… so you’ve been warned.

Last nite i tried and managed to run a sample (espressif framework) on a brand new ESP32-WROOM-32D and i could see trace on the serial monitor. Ay caramba! That left me very impressed with PIO given my starting point.

The second shinny toy is a ESP32-CAM+MB, also purchased from the same shady online outlet. A few hickups but eventually i could build in vscode+pio the sample cam server (arduino framework) and upload it to the device. Ay, caramba!

BUT, i just cannot see any debug trace on the serial monitor (not to mention a new client on the DHCP list). I fiddled with the 2 buttons on the MB and the one button on the ESP32-CAM with no result on the serial monitor.

I did set the monitor_speed=115200 in platformio.ini and i also copied the 99.platformio-udev.rules to /etc/udev/rules.d and i verified my PID&VID (pio device list) are indeed listed in that rules file.

1. The most likely thing is that i failed to do something obvious, but what?
  2. Or am i using the wrong tool and i should try to run the sample on the arduino IDE (which i don’t know either and would rather leave in peace) instead?
  3. If i stick to vscode+PIO (my preference), what can i try next?

Any pointer will be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2 Likes
  1. What’s the exact code you’re uploading
  2. What’s the exact platformio.ini you’re using
  3. You just get no output but the serial device (/dev/ttyUSB0 e.g.) is still found, right?

[See my next post below which may be more useful]

1. I did a Arduino import on this:
    arduino-esp32/libraries/ESP32/examples/Camera/CameraWebServer at master · espressif/arduino-esp32 · GitHub
    then i selected the #define CAMERA_MODEL_AI_THINKER and set the ssid/password string constants. I realize a lot of thing could go wrong in that code but i am stuck on getting a trace.