nodeMCU-32s not connecting to WiFi

Hey guys, i am really new to this and i got a kindle book (ESP32 Development using the Arduino IDE) and one of the example is trying to create a web server to flash an LED. My problem is that my board seems to not want to connect to my WiFi? I’m not really sure what to do here, anyone could help?

#include <Arduino.h>
#include <WiFi.h>

// Replace with your network credentials
const char* ssid     = "My_ssid";
const char* password = "My_password";

WiFiServer server(80);

const int led =  32;      // the number of the LED pin

// Client variables 
char linebuf[80];
int charcount=0;

void setup() 
{
  // initialize the LED as an output:
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
  //Initialize serial and wait for port to open:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  while(!Serial) {
  }

// We start by connecting to a WiFi network
  Serial.println();
  Serial.println();
  Serial.print("Connecting to ");
  Serial.println(ssid);

// WiFi.config(router_ip);
  WiFi.begin(ssid, password);

// attempt to connect to Wifi network:
  while(WiFi.status() != WL_CONNECTED) 
  {
    // Connect to WPA/WPA2 network.
    delay(2000);
    Serial.print(".");
  }
  Serial.println("");
  Serial.println("WiFi connected");
  Serial.println("IP address: ");
  Serial.println(WiFi.localIP()); 
  server.begin();
}

On the monitor it just shows “Connecting to: ssid” with the dots at the bottom from the delay of the “// Connect to WPA/WPA2 network.” I’ve replace the My_ssid, My_password and router_ip with my own.

Thank you in advance!

Can you instead of Serial.print("."); do

Serial.println("Connecting.. status: " + String(WiFi.status()));

to see what the status is?

1 Like

This is what i get from my monitor:

Connecting to Party_799
Connecting.. status: 6
Connecting.. status: 1

According to

6 = Disconnected (initially ok) and then to “No SSID Available”.