#include sub-folders?

I am new to PlatformIO, so please be gentle with me.
I have just ported a script from the Arduino IDE to the PlatformIO IDE and almost everything went straight forward. So far I am very impressed with PlatformIO but I do have one question.

Because my script was so long (20,000 lines) I wanted to split it into smaller chunks so that it would be easier to maintain. I have done this with great success using #include files and storing them in the include folder. However, what I would really like to do, to tidy things up, even more, is to put some include files in sub-folders inside the include folder.

e.g., include/test/test.h

When I do this everything compiles okay, but the file in the sub-folder has dozens of errors about global variables that it can’t find.
I was wondering if I had to specify something in the PlatformIO.ini file to get it to recognise the global variables that are declared in main.cpp?

So, just to clarify, my structure looks like this:

src/main.cpp
include/myfile.h
include/test/test.h

…and the links go like this:

Global variables declared in main.cpp
main.cpp contains: #include “myfile.h”
myfile.h contains: #include “test/test.h”

As I said, everything compiles okay. I just want to eliminate all the error messages in test.h

Thanks for any help.

If you link them like this then incidentally that’s the only way this works. By themselves, your header files are probably not valid (=“being able to be included from everywhere without error”) because they expect that certain files have been included before them in which e.g. some global variables are.

All in all, if you want to split code, you shouldn’t put the C++ implementation code in a header file and then #include it, but properly split it as a .h header file with only function and variable prototypes / declarations and a .cpp file with the implementation.