Help: PIO Home stuck on "Loading", can't see any tools

Hello all!

I’m a complete newbie to programming and all the VSCode + PlatformIO jazz. I need to modify and compile Marlin firmware for my Ender 3 Pro (recently upgraded the mainboard to a SKR Mini E3 V2.0). I really need to activate some features in the board which following some tutorials should be extremely simple, but I can’t even open PlatformIO IDE inside VSCode neither Atom, which has been a very frustrating experience.

VSCode installation runs smoothly, as well as installing the PlatformIO IDE extension. However, after installation, whenever I try to open PIO Home or any of the extension tabs I get an endless “Loading” screen, which then after 30 or so seconds evolves to the following error message:

Error: Error:
HTTPSConnectionPool(host=‘api.registry.ns1.platformio.org’, port=443): Max retries exceeded with url: /v3/packages/platformio/tool/contrib-pysite (Caused by SSLError(SSLError(1, u’[SSL: TLSV1_ALERT_PROTOCOL_VERSION] tlsv1 alert protocol version (_ssl.c:590)'),)) at /Users/FlavioMark/.vscode/extensions/platformio.platformio-ide-2.2.1/node_modules/platformio-node-helpers/dist/index.js:1:5625 at ChildProcess.c (/Users/FlavioMark/.vscode/extensions/platformio.platformio-ide-2.2.1/node_modules/platformio-node-helpers/dist/index.js:1:879169) at ChildProcess.emit (events.js:223:5) at maybeClose (internal/child_process.js:1021:16) at Socket. (internal/child_process.js:…

Also, I’ve noticed that I do get the “alien” head icon in my extensions bar (left side of the screen), and I can open and read “platformio.ini”, but I can’t do anything in terms of compiling since none of the tools on the blue bar (bottom left corner) are loaded, as if the extension is not activated. I have tried uninstalling and installing both VSCode and PIO several times now, with no success.