Debugging for newbie... ESP32-C3 on Windows 10 machine - SOLVED

I am new to PlatformIO and microcontroller programming as a whole so please bear with me. I recently started my first project and when it came time to debug I got the following in my debug console:

undefinedC:\Users\Mark\.platformio\packages\toolchain-riscv32-esp\bin\riscv32-esp-elf-gdb.exe: warning: Couldn't determine a path for the index cache directory.
Reading symbols from c:\Users\Mark\Documents\Source\PlatformIO\Test Debug\.pio\build\lolin_c3_mini\firmware.elf...
PlatformIO Unified Debugger -> https://bit.ly/pio-debug
PlatformIO: debug_tool = cmsis-dap
PlatformIO: Initializing remote target...
Open On-Chip Debugger  v0.11.0-esp32-20220706 (2022-07-06-15:48)
Licensed under GNU GPL v2
For bug reports, read
	http://openocd.org/doc/doxygen/bugs.html
adapter speed: 5000 kHz

Info : tcl server disabled
Info : telnet server disabled
Error: unable to find a matching CMSIS-DAP device

Error: Unsupported xlen: -1
Error: Unknown target arch!
.pioinit:11: Error in sourced command file:
Remote communication error.  Target disconnected.: Success.

So after doing some reading…I removed all Serial references in my code and getting the same error, I started a new project with nothing in it - just an empty setup{} and loop{}…and got the same error. Was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. I also get the following VS Code message:
"Failed to launch GDB: .pioinit:11: Error in sourced command file: Remote communication error. Target disconnected.: Success. {from interpreter-exec console “source .pioinit”)

Any help is really appreciated

The default configuration expects you to have CMSIS-DAP type external debugger attached to your hardware. Which you likely not have.

However, the ESP32-C3 also has a built-in JTAG debugger, same as the ESP32-S3

https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp-idf/en/v5.0/esp32c3/api-guides/jtag-debugging/configure-builtin-jtag.html