PlatformIO Community

Clear previous build log in VSCode

I posted an issue https://github.com/platformio/platformio-vscode-ide/issues/1411 that the build log is not cleared when building a second time. The behavior not to clear the log is apparently a design choice, but the instructions to activate this don’t work: http://docs.platformio.org/en/latest/ide/vscode.html#task-runner

Please click on “gear” icon near “Build” task in Menu > Tasks

There’s no menu named “tasks” in latest VSCode 1.40.2. If the instruction means the PlatformIO “project tasks” sidebar, there’s no gear icon there.

I managed to get the .vscode/tasks.json somehow anyway and pasted the code. No change when building.
Since I think this should be the default behavior, there should at least be a simple way to activate it. This was also addressed in VSCode; would like to clear terminal before build

This is the gear icon the documentation referred to… not the best, but it’s also a bit hard to describe since it’s a nested menu type option thingy.

It think the underlying issue is that custom tasks are broken again? Although I’m also probably doing something wrong as the VSCode tasks are like greek to me…

i.e.

{
    "version": "2.0.0",
    "tasks": [
         {
            "type": "PlatformIO",
            "task": "Build",
            "problemMatcher": [
                "$platformio"
            ],
            "group": "build",
            "presentation": {
                "panel": "new"
            }
        }
    ]
}

results in a toast saying that there are task errors, with this log output

Error: The PlatformIO task detection didn't contribute a task for the following configuration:
{
    "type": "PlatformIO",
    "task": "Build",
    "problemMatcher": [
        "$platformio"
    ],
    "group": "build"
}
The task will be ignored.

Thanks for the great demonstration how to open the tasks.json file! Much appreciated. I’ll clarify the text in the documentation.

Your code has a line that is missing from the documentation:

“group”: “build”,

Now I get a new terminal for each build, but also the error message you mentioned. (Actually, it’s the same with or without the “group: build” line.)

Even if we get this to work; is there a way to automatically close the old build terminal, or even better clear and reuse it?

1 Like

I notice there’s a PlatformIO setting platformio-ide.autoCloseSerialMonitor:

Automatically close cmd_device_monitor before uploading/testing,
default value is true.

A similar setting to close the old build log when building again would be great.
But fixing the script for just launching a new terminal would be a good start.

1 Like