ZAP integration with PlatformIO

Hello!

I’m a lead developer and maintainer of the ZAP open-source project (GitHub - project-chip/zap: ZAP is Zigbee Cluster Library configuration tool and generator. It allows users to configure their ZCL application using web-like interface and then generate the required artifacts for this application, based upon the templates inside a given ZCL SDK.). Its a visual tool for embedded developers to configure Zigbee ZCL applications, written in node.js/electron.

We have a plan to integrate it with VSCode and platformIO came to mind.

I don’t know much about platformIO at this point, but my question around this are:

• is platformIO architecture such, that making this new visual editor inside VSCode as part of platformIO ecosystem would allow to use some extra services and features of the platformIO itself, which could make overall effort easier?

• or are cases like this (a separate visual tool for embedded developers) something that should be developed as a completely separate VSCode extension, unrelated to platformIO?

• if it’s developed as a separate tool, are there some APIs or integration points I should consider between platformIO and these additional VSCode extensions that are also targeted at embedded developers? If there are some extra features that could be enabled if platformIO is also present in the VSCode installation, that would be a good way to add end-user value.

Thanks for the time. I’m just attempting to scope out this effort, and I don’t have enough knowledge about platformIO yet to understand what makes sense and what not. Any answer will be appreciated.

Cheers,
T

But the code that comes out at the other end of it is C/C++, and compiled down to a firmware binary for some microcontroller? Is that microcontroller already supported maybe?