WebSockets can't find ESP8266WiFi

Hi all,

I’ve been scouring the forums and Google trying to figure this out for about 2 days. I’m relatively new to everything, so forgive me if I am missing something. I’ve had some issues in my primary project, so I created a new workspace to test things out. It’s still giving me the same error: ESP8266WiFi.h: No such file or directory. The issue has something to do with switching lib_ldf_mode to deep+, which is something I am experimenting with in my primary project.

Here is my main.cpp:

#include <Arduino.h>
#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>

#include "WebSocketsServer.h"

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
}

Here is my platformio.ini:

[env]
lib_ldf_mode = deep+

[env:nodemcuv2]
platform = espressif8266
board = nodemcuv2
framework = arduino
lib_deps = 549

And here is the build output:

Verbose mode can be enabled via `-v, --verbose` option
    CONFIGURATION: https://docs.platformio.org/page/boards/espressif8266/nodemcuv2.html
    PLATFORM: Espressif 8266 2.2.2 > NodeMCU 1.0 (ESP-12E Module)
    HARDWARE: ESP8266 80MHz, 80KB RAM, 4MB Flash
    PACKAGES: toolchain-xtensa 2.40802.190218 (4.8.2), framework-arduinoespressif8266 2.20502.0 (2.5.2), tool-esptool 1.413.0 (4.13), tool-esptoolpy 1.20600.0 (2.6.0)
    LDF: Library Dependency Finder -> http://bit.ly/configure-pio-ldf
    LDF Modes: Finder ~ deep+, Compatibility ~ soft
    Found 30 compatible libraries
    Scanning dependencies...
    Dependency Graph
    |-- <WebSockets> 2.2.0
    |   |-- <Hash> 1.0
    |-- <ESP8266WiFi> 1.0
    Compiling .pio\build\nodemcuv2\lib2e7\WebSockets_ID549\SocketIOclient.cpp.o
    Compiling .pio\build\nodemcuv2\lib2e7\WebSockets_ID549\WebSockets.cpp.o
    Compiling .pio\build\nodemcuv2\lib2e7\WebSockets_ID549\WebSocketsClient.cpp.o
    Compiling .pio\build\nodemcuv2\lib2e7\WebSockets_ID549\WebSocketsServer.cpp.o