Good Morning All.
Apologies for the slightly scary title to this post, but now I have your attention…
I’ve just updated to VSCode 1.57.0 this morning and it has a new feature, trust, which allows you to specify if the code in a folder/workspace is to be trusted or not.
Trusting the folder/workspace allows extensions to be used as normal.
Not Trusting the folder/workspace, prevents all your extensions, including PlatformIO, from running. No PlatformIO toolbar will appear if a folder is untrusted.
There are settings to enable/disable this, and the default is to ask once per folder. Once trusted, it’s fine for all time. (Even if you delete the folder, recreate it and put some completely different code into it!)
So, if you don’t see the PlatformIO toolbar, and there’s a blue band across the top of the window which mentions “restricted mode” check the folder/workspace’s trust by clicking the “Manage” link. You can add the folder in the management window.