View all included files

Hi, Newbie here!

PlatformIO looks like exactly what i’m looking for, but there are a couple of fundamental things that i don’t really understand…

I have generated a project for an ST development board, and opened an example project. It uses types, and calls functions that are in header files included… somewhere? I can get to the header file, but i have no idea what interfaces are available for use with this project. i am also struggling to understand how the call to a particular header file, is being found at all, as my main.cpp only includes a single header, which in turn doesn’t include any others…

Where can i find, what this board/chips supports in the way of libraries at my disposable for use? I’d like to view the headers that the vendor has provided for use with this board, but the project doesn’t appear to show them… or indeed what it’s using to build my project.

P.S.
I am used to having a ‘project’ and various configuration and build scripts accompanying a project. I have been searching through the documentation and i am really struggling to grasp the fundamental ideas of PlatformIO. Could somebody please explain how the normal ‘project configuration’ interfaces that come with ide’s and list of includes, makefile ect, all translate to the project that ProjectIO generates for a board?

Thanks

If you want to understand the build process better you might want to execute pio settings set force_verbose Yes in the shell. That way the entire GCC/G++ build commands appear in which you will see all -I flags and where the include files come from.

In general it’s hard to answer the question without knowing what exact project / framework you use. But in general you have:

• the files / headers from your framework, e.g. in .platformio\packages\framework-stm32cube
  • the files from your own src/ folder