Using Seeeduino XIAO BLE Sense can upload but not monitor

I’m using PIO in VS Code, and am targeting the Seeeduino XIAO BLE Sense platform. I’ve read through some related issues and PRs, specifically:

I’m new to the whole tool chain here (not an embedded dev) so it’s likely a configuration issue.

From within PIO I can upload to my target on /dev/ttyACM0, however once the upload happens the device disappears – I would post a screenshot, but I can only post one per message, so I’ll share that I see the device when I click on the extension “devices” (and see it on the OS, linux), and here is a shot of what looks like upload is working:

However, after this the device is gone from the OS and the devices link in the PIO extension doesn’t show any available ports. When I try to monitor I get asked for the port (and an empty list is given).

I will note that the device seems to work fine with the arduino ide 2, and that when I uploaded code via that route I could monitor it from within PIO.

Where should I be digging to try and understand why the device upload isn’t working correctly?

Well what is your src/main.cpp?

Apologies, I’m just using the default project main.cpp for an MWE:

#include <Arduino.h>

// put function declarations here:
int myFunction(int, int);

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
  int result = myFunction(2, 3);
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
}

// put function definitions here:
int myFunction(int x, int y) {
  return x + y;
}

I did have a different one too that was my development code trying to use the IMU, but even this one above doesn’t seem to run.

The serial may not be autostarted. Use

#include <Arduino.h>

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);
}

void loop() {
}

instead.