Using ESP-IDF library in arduino

Im new to the ESP-IDF and platformIO and Im working on a project using an esp32 and MPU9250 over the SPI bus and im using the arduino core in Visual Studio Code. I havent found any good libraries that work over spi and the fifo of the mpu9250 except for this one: GitHub - natanaeljr/esp32-MPU-driver: ESP32 full library for all MPU6000 MPU6050 MPU6500 MPU9150 MPU9250 with SPI and I2C support and more. . As i said im totally new and have no idea how to get the library working or if its even possible.
Is anyone able to help with this?

I think you can use the library because ESP32 Arduino is based on ESP-IDF. Does it work out of the box?

Like is said in my post I’m totally new to platformIO and ESP-IDF. I only used Arduino before so I don’t even know how to install the library because there is no library folder that I can find.

All the project configuration for PlatformIO is done via the platformio.ini configuration file that’s in the root of your project folder. To install a library into your project, you want the lib_deps parameter. Since the library doesn’t appear to be in the PlatformIO Library Registry (meaning it can’t just be added by name or ID) you’ll need to add it via the GitHub path. i.e.

lib_deps = natanaeljr/esp32-MPU-driver

or

lib_deps = https://github.com/natanaeljr/esp32-MPU-driver

If you get an error because you don’t have git installed, and you don’t want to install it, you could try:

lib_deps = esp32-MPU-driver=https://github.com/natanaeljr/esp32-MPU-driver/archive/master.zip

So I got it included but I’m getting a bunch of errors when I try to build it. I’m guessing I need to setup the library some how. It says on GitHub I need to run some make file but I have no idea how. I tried running the ones in the tools folder on linux but that didn’t work.