Uploading to Multiple Identical Devices

As a newbie, I am not confident I know how to control the upload to a specific com port under PlatformIo in contrast to the Arduino IDE where it is always a very specific choice.

For example: I have two Mega2560s attached to com ports. One is in operational mode on my cockpit hardware and I don’t want to change anything until I am ready. The other Mega2560 is in development mode and I want to make changes and test it independently.

As far as I have gathered ( as a 3-day newbie), both Megas just appear on the Devices list without any obvious way of locking onto one or the other. Did I miss something?.

PlatformIO has automatic upload port detection that will get the first “good looking” (in terms of some filters…) COM port available on the machine.

Since you seem to want to make sure that you only update to the right board, use upload_port = COMx in the platformio.ini with the COM port you want, and it will overwrite any automatic detection; Just like in the Arduino IDE.

Hi Max,
Thanks for the quick response. As a newbie, I am reluctant to make critical comments about PlatformIO function, but surely editing a control file is a clumsy way of solving such an issue. I am not exactly sure at what instant the platformio.ini control file changes become activated? Shouldn’t it be part of end-user interactive interface? eg pointing at the list of com port devices and clicking, I want that one to be active at this point in time? I suppose I am really just asking for a functional update, which is somewhat cheeky for a complete newbie.
Cheers.