Undefined reference to `myFunction(unsigned char, unsigned char)'

Hi, I am quite new to PlatformIO and migrating from the ArduinoIDE, so please bear with me.

I am moving over a project I did in the ArduinoIDE to PlatformIO, but have an error that I cannot get fixed. I made a minimal reproducible example shown in the code below. I am trying to distribute the functions I am using in different files, and that’s probably where the error is in. The error states:
< artificial>(.text.startup+0xc0): undefined reference to `readByte(unsigned char, unsigned char)'

Of course I want the error fixed, but I also want to learn how to have the program in multiple files in a ‘proper’ way. From the numerous guides on the internet I found and studied, this is what I came up with, but I suspect that there is tonnes of things to improve/change, so please do not hesitate to point me to anything that can be improved.

The files:
main.cpp:

#include "main_head.h"

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
}

void loop() {
  bool succes = readAccel(&xMeas,&yMeas,&zMeas);
}

main_head.h:

#ifndef MAIN_HEAD_H
#define MAIN_HEAD_H
#include <Arduino.h>

#include <Wire.h>

//global var:
float xAccel, yAccel, zAccel;
float xMeas, yMeas, zMeas;
int KXTJ3 = 0x0E;

//other functions:
extern bool readAccel(float *,float *,float *);

#endif

accel_readout.cpp:

#include "accel_read_head.h"

bool readAccel(float *xAccel,float *yAccel,float *zAccel){
  bool succes = false;
  byte x0Data, x1Data, y0Data, y1Data, z0Data, z1Data;
  if(
    readByte(byte(0x06), x0Data)&&
    readByte(byte(0x07), x1Data)&&
    readByte(byte(0x08), y0Data)&&
    readByte(byte(0x09), y1Data)&&
    readByte(byte(0x0A), z0Data)&&
    readByte(byte(0x0B), z1Data)
  ){
    succes = true;
  }
  *xAccel = x0Data+x1Data;
  *yAccel = x0Data+x1Data;
  *zAccel = x0Data+x1Data;
  return succes;
}

accel_read_head.h:

#ifndef ACCEL_READOUT_H
#define ACCEL_READOUT_H

#include "main_head.h"