Unable to use Atmel ICE for debugging

I’m totally new to PlatformIO so after reading about it, installing and testing it, I decided it would do what I needed.

I read the following on PlatformIO’s web site:

“PlatformIO Debugging Solution offers a unique debugging experience for productive embedded development. Using our multi-board and multi-architecture programming experience, we simplified the debugging process in the same way. A zero debugging configuration with support for the most popular debugging probes and compatibility between IDEs and OS.”

I assumed that with the Atmel ICE being listed in there supported “Tools & Debug Probes” it would work so I ordered one. After delivery I was able to get it to make a JTAG connection with my mega2560 development board and download a simple blink program. Everything worked great except for debugging. Now after more than a week of internet searching and testing solutions I am no further along in using the Atmel ICE as a debugger. Then this morning I found a reply from maxgerhart on PlatformIO’s Community thread “Debug Tool - Cannot enter any debugger name”. His reply said this:

“PlatformIO has no native support for debugging with an Atmel ICE (only uploading) – simavr (simulation) and avr-stub (gdb stub on the target microcontroller communicating over UART) are the built-in ones for now.”

No zero debugging configuration and support here. The devil is in the details and the details are hidden deep in the bowls of the PlatformIO web site.

So now I have several questions.

1 Any idea when office support will be added for using the Atmel ICE for debugging?

2 Has anyone found a way to get the Atmel ICE working and wouldn’t mind sharing the setup steps.

3 Does anyone have a different working AVR JTAG ICE device setup? If so would you mind sharing which ICE device and project settings you use? I will buy a different ICE device if I must.

I am on a new install of windows 10, using VScode 1.52.1 and the latest PlatformIO.