Unable to build and upload SPIFFS filesystem image with framework esp-idf

Hi everyone,

I am new to PlatformIO and I need some help on building and uploading SPIFFS filesystem image to my ESP32 board.

Let me throw my find first.

1. I am able to build and upload SPIFFS to my ESP32 board with Arduino framework
  2. I am unable to build and upload SPIFFS to my ESP32 board with ESP-IDF framework

The Arduino project I created is following this link
https://docs.platformio.org/en/latest/tutorials/espressif32/arduino_debugging_unit_testing.html

The ESP-IDF project I created is following this link
https://docs.platformio.org/en/latest/tutorials/espressif32/espidf_debugging_unit_testing_analysis.html

For both project, I created a folder “data” and put the same file called “index.html”.
And here is my screenshot for ESP-IDF project

There is no error message telling me what exactly it is failing to build and upload to the ESP32.
I have no idea how to troubleshoot this issue.

Thank you in advance if someone could help me.
Best,
Leo

Did you find a solution to this? I’m hitting the same problem and the same errors.

You need to do as the Espressif Docs say.

First, you need a partition table that allows some storage for SPIFFS files. The default one, partitions_singleapp.csv, has no spiffs partition (see PlatformIO docs). So, I copied that file into my project and, adapting from the Arduino file here,

I wrote my partitions_custom.csv as

# Name,   Type, SubType, Offset,  Size, Flags
# Note: if you have increased the bootloader size, make sure to update the offsets to avoid overlap
nvs,      data, nvs,     ,        0x6000,
phy_init, data, phy,     ,        0x1000,
factory,  app,  factory, ,        1M,
spiffs,   data, spiffs,  ,        1M

for a 1MB SPIFFS into the root of my project folder.

Further I need to tell PlatformIO and the ESP-IDF tools that that is now my partition table, so I add

board_build.partitions = partitions_custom.csv