Two codes with identical errors, only one compiles

Hey, big noob here so I apologize in advance if it sounds silly.

For context, I’m working with the Paxcounter code, and I’m currently modifying the code to adapt it to a specific use case. I’m using PlatformIO IDE on Vscode and Arduino framework.
I first uploaded the original Paxcounter code to my TTGO T-Beam v1.1 dev card and it worked completely fine. Then, I modified the code and now it does not compile anymore. When checking for errors, something strange happens…
When using the pio check --skip-packages command on both the original Paxcounter code and the one I modified, they both have the same errors! However only the original Paxcounter code builds successfully… How is that possible ? I can clearly see the errors in the Build console from the modified code, but my question is why are they not displayed when using the check command?

Note: the line numbers might not correspond for the payload.h file, but that is because I added some content in it. The lines are referring exactly to the same content.

Output for original Paxcounter code :

include\payload.h:98: [high:error] #error No valid payload converter defined! [preprocessorErrorDirective]
include\payload.h:98: [high:error] #error No valid payload converter defined! [preprocessorErrorDirective]
src\hash.cpp:43: [low:style] The function 'myhash' is never used. [unusedFunction]
src\i2c.cpp:48: [low:style] The scope of the variable 'i' can be reduced. [variableScope]      
src\i2c.cpp:49: [low:style] The scope of the variable 'iDevice' can be reduced. [variableScope]
src\i2c.cpp:49: [low:style] The scope of the variable 'iCount' can be reduced. [variableScope] 
src\i2c.cpp:51: [low:style] The scope of the variable 'szName' can be reduced. [variableScope] 
src\i2c.cpp:13: [low:style] The function 'i2c_deinit' is never used. [unusedFunction]
src\i2c.cpp:8: [low:style] The function 'i2c_init' is never used. [unusedFunction]