Trying to use GMP on esp8266?

fair warning im a novice most of this stuff(software wise anyway).

i have a project that im working on that i want to be able to handle BIG numbers (2048 bits). i want them big beacuse i am trying to “build” long messages for the usbpd protocol and an unsigned long long is still too small. i did some reasartch and GMP seems to suit my needs. however the only available version of gmp in the librarys provided by platformio is mini-gmp witch doesn’t have the features i need. i have attempted to build GMP from source but i believe that i built if for x86 instead of esp8266(idk if i eaven built if for a specific architecture at all)

TBH im kinda lost

when i attempt to build my project i get the following error

c:/users/[my username]/.platformio/packages/toolchain-xtensa/bin/../lib/gcc/xtensa-lx106-elf/10.3.0/../../../../xtensa-lx106-elf/bin/ld.exe: lib\lib\libgmp.a: error adding symbols: file format not recognized
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status
*** [.pio\build\esp12e\firmware.elf] Error 1

you can take a look at my project at https://github.com/mickdassive/usbc_car_module (i know im probably not using github right)
and shod be able to find my compiled version of GMP in the /lib directory

any help with getting GMP to work or suggesting other librays would be greatly appreciated

The linking error is definitely from you compiling it for x86 / x64.

I have personally tried to compile GMP for ESP8266 (xtensa-lx106) some time ago and have not succeeded. While it possible to get the libgmp.a compiled properly (after a tiny but of Makefile hacking, config.h massaging and a very long ./configure command that has all the esp8266-specific build flags), it immediately overflowed the available IRAM in the ESP8266. I have not looked further at it since then. I can publish my current state when I can.