Trouble starting GDB with ESP-WROVER-KIT

Hi Community

Being new to this forum I’d like to briefly introduce myself. I am an electronics engineer by education and have been working in development before drifting more and more to management. Now I am retired, but still an engineer at heart. So I can finally realize all those little projects I had in my head but lacked the time to realize. :wink:

Some time ago I started to use the ESP32, first under the Arduino platform and Windows 10. I liked the huge choice of useful libraries, but found the IDE a little “simple”. Then I switched to Ubuntu and the ESP-IDF under eclipse. A great IDE, but I found espressif’s current development environment somewhat over-sophisticated. I.e. I didn’t quite get along with it - maybe I am just getting too old for that… :wink:

So when Andreas Spiess guided my attention to PlatformIO / VSC a few days ago I found all my dreams fulfilled: Arduino and ESP-IDF, an excellent IDE possibly even better than eclipse, running under Windows 10 and last but not least able to use GDB for inline-debugging.

So here I am: I want to start a GDB-session with my ESP-WROVER-KIT, of which the documentation says " Espressif ESP-WROVER-KIT has on-board debug probe and IS READY for debugging. You don’t need to use/buy external debug probe. " Compilation and uploading a little Arduino project was a breeze, but when I ran the command PlatformIO: Start Debugging , the debug console said this:

undefinedOpen On-Chip Debugger v0.10.0-esp32-20190708 (2019-07-08-11:04)
Licensed under GNU GPL v2
For bug reports, read
http://openocd.org/doc/doxygen/bugs.html
none separate
adapter speed: 15000 kHz
Info : Configured 2 cores
esp32 interrupt mask on
Info : Listening on port 6666 for tcl connections
Info : Listening on port 4444 for telnet connections
Error: libusb_open() failed with LIBUSB_ERROR_NOT_SUPPORTED
Error: libusb_open() failed with LIBUSB_ERROR_NOT_FOUND
Error: no device found