Total noob, but going crazy

50 foot fly by: im just starting this hobby and messing around. i have tried to figure this out on my own via research and videos. but nothing helps. im sure its a simple fix. im trying to get just the basic “test” example to run off the tft_espi library.
[env:nodemcu-32s]
platform = espressif32
board = nodemcu-32s
framework = arduino
lib_deps = bodmer/TFT_eSPI@^2.5.43
thats how everything is currently set up but getting this error:
*** [.pio\build\nodemcu-32s\lib6a4\TFT_eSPI\TFT_eSPI.cpp.o] Error 1

im sure someone with more experience can help?
thanks in advance

Hi @rzapp18 !

Please show the complete error message.

The TFT_eSPI library must be configured.
Usually this is done by editing the User_Setup.h file located in the library folder.
Fortunately, there is a better way for PlatformIO by adding all necessary definitions to the build_flags in the platformio.ini.

Example:

[env:nodemcu-32s]
platform = espressif32
board = nodemcu-32s
framework = arduino
lib_deps = 
  bodmer/TFT_eSPI@^2.5.43
build_flags =
  -DUSER_SETUP_LOADED=1
  -DST7789_DRIVER=1
  -DTFT_WIDTH=128
  -DTFT_HEIGHT=160
  -DTFT_MISO=19
  -DTFT_MOSI=23
  -DTFT_SCLK=18
  -DTFT_CS=5
  -DTFT_DC=19
  -DTFT_RST=4
  -DLOAD_GLCD=1
  -DLOAD_FONT2=1
  -DLOAD_FONT4=1
  -DLOAD_FONT6=1
  -DLOAD_FONT7=1
  -DLOAD_FONT8=1
  -DLOAD_GFXFF=1
  -DSMOOTH_FONT=1
  -DSPI_FREQUENCY=27000000

You’ll find a description here TFT_eSPI/docs/PlatformIO/Configuring options.txt at master · Bodmer/TFT_eSPI · GitHub

I believe i configured the TFT_eSPI library correct (at this point im literally following a youtube tutorial) here is the full error message im getting.

In file included from lib/TFT_eSPI/TFT_eSPI.cpp:16:
lib/TFT_eSPI/TFT_eSPI.h:30:10: fatal error: SPI.H: No such file or directory
#include <SPI.H>
I did include SPI.H in the lib_deps, to see if anything changed. but still nothing.

Please remove this.