Teensy3.5 Serial not working in PlatformIO (on Raspi 4) - same example works from Arduino/Teensyduino

I can compile the Arduino Example “ASCIITable” in PlatformIO on the Raspi 4 with no errors. However, when the program runs there is no output in the Serial monitor (which is opening ttyACM0). I can see the Teensy as ttyACM0 when it is plugged into the USB port when I do a “ls /dev/tty*”.
If I plug the Teensy into my Win10 computer, it shows up as COM25 but there is no serial output here either.
Compiling the same example program in Arduino 1.8.13/Teensyduino 1.54 Beta 7, on the Raspi 4, it works fine.
Compiling the same example program in PlatformIO (or Arduino) on my PC, it also works fine.
In PlatformIO,on the Raspi 4, if I add a few lines to blink the LED as it is looping &sending out ASCII characters, the LED is flashing indicating that the program is executing the loop properly- it’s just not sending any serial output.
I am new to using PlatformIO. I was thinking it would be good to use on Raspi 4 for both the Teensy and ESP32 MCUs that I commonly use.
Any one have any ideas?
Many thanks

On both my PC, and the Raspi 4, the PlatformIO core is 5.1.1

I’ve recently observed that multiple Arudino cores have changed their USB serial code to only send data when the DTR line is asserted.

Does it serial output appear in PlatformIO’s monitor program when you add

monitor_dtr = 1

to the platformio.ini?

Thanks for the rapid response, Max. Unfortunately, adding this line to the platformIO.ini did not change anything. Actually, I have never run across any instances where DTR handshake was needed to send data via a USB CDC serial port- using any of the Teensy devices.

I had added “build_flags= -D USB_SERIAL” to the ini file- just to be sure, although they say that the Teensy 3.x USB SERIAL firmware is loaded by default.