Teensy 3.1 issue - firmware uploading but no indication of running

Hi all.

I initially reported and described the issue in the teensy platform repo: Blink Example setup/loop not working as part of larger project (for Teensy 3.1) · Issue #70 · platformio/platform-teensy · GitHub

Since there doesn’t seem to be much activity there recently, I decided to try my luck here as well.
I’m quite new to the embedded world, so please forgive any obvious troubleshooting misses, but as the project compiles and uploads fine but still shows no signs of running, I feel like I am very much in the dark.

Well given that you that the Arduino Blink example works (platform-teensy/Blink.cpp at o_c-platform · chlirre/platform-teensy · GitHub) but a blinky with the addition that library is compiled in (O_C-HemisphereSuite/Main.cpp at blink-loop · chlirre/O_C-HemisphereSuite · GitHub) doesn’t work points to that library, in conjunction with your change of compiler version maybe.

Does it not compile without that compiler change?

Given the large size of the library (O_C-HemisphereSuite/software/src at blink-loop · chlirre/O_C-HemisphereSuite · GitHub) it seems rather hard to directly spot the (or multiple) errors that prevent this from running.

A “shot in the dark” guess from me would be that if there are globally constructed C++ objects, there is some crash in some constructor code, or the project attempts to re-implement ISR routines like the SysTick, there is some error in that.

Is there the possibility that you’re able to solder 2 tiny wires to the Teensy to enable SWD debugging, with e.g. an STLink or JLink? (Hacking the Teensy V3.1 for SWD Debugging | MCU on Eclipse). That would bring light in that pretty quickly.

Some other advice after reading through