Target header file is ignored. Instead header file from external library with same name is compiled

Dear community

Presenting my case will be extremely challenging because it involves a HUGE project I have been working on for the past 3 years or so, involving dozens of files and nearly 10,000 lines of code. I will try my best since due to IP issues I cannot disclose much information about its real contents.

My project, based on a big custom wrapper library that merges and “packs” several peripherals and functionalities, had been working FLAWLESSLY until the past 2 days when it decided to completely break compilation and the project is unusable. After compiling everything turns red. I am in a panic state right now. I am unsure if a recent update in the pio core broke something.

The problem is the following:

My custom wrapper Class library (_WrapperLib") that lives inside the lib folder contains a header file called definitions.h. I use an external library that contains a header file with exactly the same name: definitions.h.

The external libraries are declared in the platformio.ini file using:

lib_extra_dirs = $PROJECT_DIR/../../libs

each and every one of my custom libraries including the wrapper library and a bunch of custom classes is also declared in the .ini file as:

build_flags = 
	-I lib/WrapperLib
	-I lib/Class1
	-I lib/Class2 
	-I lib/ClassN 

(my project heavily uses inheritance to control a ton of peripherals attached to the board under development)

When opening the file definitions.h from the wrapper class everything inside the preprocessor directives is greyed out:

#ifndef DEFINITIONS_H
   #define DEFINITIONS_H

// All definitions are greyed out and thus this file is getting ignored!

#endif

Please note the different shades. Also, I am using the #pragma once directive in all files!