SPIFFS/LittleFS with ESP8266

Hey everyone ! Im new to PlatformIO and I want a bit of guidance . I have searched the internet and read a lot of posts here aswell , about SPIFFS/LittleFS, but cant seem to manage to make my program work .
Code :

#include <Arduino.h>
#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>
#include <ESPAsyncTCP.h>
#include <ESPAsyncWebServer.h>

AsyncWebServer server(80);

const char *ssid = "";
const char *password = "";

void setup()
{
WiFi.mode(WIFI_STA);
WiFi.begin(ssid, password);
Serial.begin(9600);
delay(100);
if (WiFi.waitForConnectResult() != WL_CONNECTED)
{
    Serial.printf("WiFi Failed!\n");
    return;
}

Serial.print("IP Address: ");
Serial.println(WiFi.localIP());

server.on("/", HTTP_GET, [](AsyncWebServerRequest *request) {
    request->send(200, "text/html", "/index.html");
});

server.begin();
}

So im trying to build a web server which will take data from an Arduino UNO . I want all my web stuff ( html, css , js etc ) to be in a separate folder so I can have my project more clean .

Also, im not 100% sure that I’ve chose the right board ( I have a nodeMCU esp8266 )

PlatformIO.ini :

platform = espressif8266
board = esp12e
framework = arduino

What’s exactly not working here?

Why is there no loop() in the program?

Also the platformio.ini is missing its first [env:esp12e] line?

1 Like

The loop() is empty , im not doing anything there atm .
I made another project and I searched for * nodemcu esp8266 * and I chose NodeMCU 1.0 (ESP-12E Module) .
Now my ini. file is :

[env:nodemcuv2]
platform = espressif8266
board = nodemcuv2
framework = arduino

What im trying to make is to access my index.html file using SPIFFS and LittleFS ( because as I read about them , this is what they do ) . But I dont know how to do that .

In addition, you are not including or starting SPIFFS or LittleFS! Once you’ve done all that, you’ll also need to do the Upload FS thingy to load the data subfolder containing your index.html onto your device.