Speed-up SPI transfer rate

Hello,
I’m new to PlatformIO and I have some problems with a small SPI-project on my Arduino DUE. The aim of the project is to read in an analog input, process the data (not important at the moment) and send the data via a SPI connection to a DAC (DAC8811). This works properly, but now I’m trying to speed-up the SPI transfer rate and have some issues with that. As you can see on the pictures below, I tried to change the ClockDivider but surprisingly the time difference between two 16-bit transfer packages didn’t change.
(Clock Frequenca Arduino DUE = 84MHz;
left picture: ClockDivider = 2 → SPI Clock = 84/2 MHz | right picture: ClockDivider = 11 → SPI Clock = 84/11

MHz)

Picture Explanation:
.) Line 1 - yellow Line: CS (low-active)
.) Line 2 - green Line: SPI Clock
.) Line 3 - purple line = data (0x7FFF = 0b0111 1111)

The associated code is quite short, and I can’t see the problem there.

Now my question is how to reduce the time delay between the data packages the increase the transfer speed rate.
Thanks in advance,
micro_max

The clock divider affects the frequency of SPI clock of the transfer, it doesn’t change the processing / computation delay your sketch has between the end of one SPI transfer to the start of the next one.

It’s hard to judge what code is being executed between one SPI transfer to the next since the code is not given. If you do a ADC reading between each transfer, that’s of course going to delay stuff.

General optimization hints:

• Minimize the runtime of the code executed between two SPI transfers
  • If using the SPI.h library, make sure you give it as much data as you can in one go, aka the transfer() function that takes a whole byte array
  • Even the SPI.h is polling-based. You may find an interrupt-driven or DMA-driven way of driving the SPI to be far more performant. This of course depends on your application and when the data you want to send over SPI is available.

Thanks maxgerhardt for the quick reply!