Riscv-nuclei-elf-as: unrecognized option `-x'

Hi everyone,
I am new to this forum . I am also a newbie in the feild of programming and i only know assembler. I tried to compile/build a led blink program written in riscv assembler for longan nano(example code from GitHub - theandrew168/bronzebeard: Minimal assembler and ecosystem for bare-metal RISC-V development) in platfromio . Platformio throws the following error - riscv-nuclei-elf-as: unrecognized option `-x’ – screen shot attached. The asm file was placed inside the src folder of platformio project. after failed to build i checked the build folder and found a .O file is output by the compiler/assembler but no .hex files… Requesting esteemed members to help me to resolve this issue. Is it possible to build asm files.
regards
sajeev

The behavior for compilling .S and .s was recently changed per Cannot use assembly files in MCS51 platform due to core issue · Issue #3917 · platformio/platformio-core · GitHub.

Can you try renaming the assembly files to .s?

CC @ivankravets possible regression

@maxgerhardt
Thankyou very much for the reply… I changed the file extension from .asm to .s as you have suggested. The previous Riscv-nuclei-elf-as: unrecognized option '-x’ message doesnt come anymore. At present I am getting the following message-----

c:/users/manama/.platformio/packages/toolchain-gd32v/bin/…/lib/gcc/riscv-nuclei-elf/9.2.0/…/…/…/…/riscv-nuclei-elf/bin/ld.exe: .pio\build\sipeed-longan-nano\libRISCV.a(start.o): in function .L0 ': (.init+0x21c): undefined reference to main’

Any help will be highly appreciated. I would like to assemble and link a dummy file (assembly) and program the longan device first before diving deep into study of RISCV.