Resolved - Serial Port not not found by platformio- it was a build issue with platformio

I seem to have the opposite problem others have had. I am new to platform.io and I am trying to build a ESP32s3 tasmota image. I am not new to development (started in the70s literally…), so my question is probably a bit fundamental. I have a working design of a ESP32s3 board that I have imaged from arduino over a normal serial link in windows (COM3), so I know the board is just fine. I run esptool.py chip_id and the tool talks to the board and gets the chip id perfectly -

PS F:\development\ESP32 Dev\projects\Tasmota-development> esptool.py chip_id
esptool.py v4.5.1
Found 2 serial ports
Serial port COM3
Connecting…
Detecting chip type… ESP32-S3
Chip is ESP32-S3 (revision v0.1)
Features: WiFi, BLE
Crystal is 40MHz
MAC: f4:12:fa:ca:91:50
Uploading stub…
Running stub…
Stub running…
Warning: ESP32-S3 has no Chip ID. Reading MAC instead.
MAC: f4:12:fa:ca:91:50
Hard resetting via RTS pin…

I have run BLE test code from Arduino, uploaded, and run the code successfully. I just dislike the arduino build environment and wanted to use something more appropriate especially for something as complex as tasmota

I have set the ESP-IDF and upload/monitor port to com3 at the bottom buttons. I have changed platform_override.ini to specific com3 as the upload port. I build but I get the following line at the end before it tells me it has failed.

*** Serial port used for erasing\flashing the ESP32’ not found, needed by target `.pio\build\tasmota32s3\partitions.bin’.

I either have missed something I needed to set or the multiple places where settings seem to be are being ignored.

I had been looking at ways to have a verbose build text that at least would tell what commands are even being run that failed, so I can figure out what caused the serial port message.

Any assistance would be appreciated. Thank you. Steve

This more sounds like you have accidentally uncommented this comment