Project folder deleted while trying to import from arduino

Dear all,

This is my first time with PlatformIO and I’m quite upset.
I tried importing my project folder that I created using arduino IDE.

I clicked on “Import Arduino Project”.
I selected the project folder (the one that contains .ino files) and ticked the “Keep project compatible between PlatformIO and Arduino IDE” as well as the "Use Arduino IDE Library Manager"
I selected my board in the dropdown list (Arduino Nano ATmega168).

Then clicked Import.

There was an error:
PlatformIO: Failed to import an Arduino IDE project!/var/folders/z7/y2zqhdlj6fncryhs0s_mhxqm0000gn/T/pio-arduino-import116614-7032-y05zw0

And now my project folder is empty! No file, no nothing…

Is there any chance that the file have been copied somewhere?

What a great way to discover PlatformIO… now I need to do everything from scratch, it wasn’t a very big project but I did spend quite some time working on it.

I’m using a Mac on OSX El Capitan.

Do you see your source code of the project here? /var/folders/z7/y2zqhdlj6fncryhs0s_mhxqm0000gn/T/pio-arduino-import116614-7032-y05zw0 ?

Thank you, my file is there!

I tried to reproduce the issue and it is happening every time! It should be filed as a serious bug!

Thanks to God. Please sorry for this issue. We have changed “Import Arduino Project” logic a few days ago. Could you explain in details how to reproduce this issue? I have the same OS and it works for me :frowning:

I can reproduce it every time I try it, with any project done is arduino IDE, even a dummy one that contains nothing but a file with the basic “setup/loop”.
If I don’t tick the “Keep project compatible between PlatformIO and Arduino IDE” box, the project is not deleted.

I’ve just fixed it:

Could you try to replace ~/.atom/packages/platformio-ide/lib/import-arduino-project/command.js with this one?

Please restart Atom. Did it fix?

Yes!
Thank you for the support and the quick fix!