PlatformIO Community

Please help me understand how I can do TDD in PlatformIO

Edit: Wow, wouldn’t you know I begin understanding this after I gave in and wrote a post asking for help. See my reply(or replies) for what I’ve found out on my own. I decided rather than removing my questions I will keep them for posterity.

Hello everyone. I feel some context is valuable here so I’ll share some of that before I get into my questions.

Context
I am a test architect born out of a software engineer in my day job. I’ve always enjoyed building DIY electronics kits, so I figured it was high time I check out the microcontroller and embedded device scene. Somewhat unusually, I have no interest in using this to learn programming as seems to be the primary use-case for it. Instead, I have been trying to find the best way to do serious microcontroller development work - just to quench my own curiosity - which is how I found PlatformIO.

IMO, the Arduino IDE isn’t suited for serious development work for many reasons, but my primary gripes are lack of test tooling and poor intellisense/multi-file editing. Upon digging deeper, I found Atmel Studio 7. I decided against using it because it’s Windows only and seems to be an offender of platform lock-in behavior. PlatformIO seems to be a nice project that mixes the two well. It has good Unit Test support, ability to run in a CICD pipeline, and is of course open source and trying to break free from platform lock-in.