PlatformIO extension doesn't activate in VSCode

Hello, recently I cannot use the PlatformIO extension anymore. I’ve been using it for about 4 months but yesterday it randomly stopped working. I opened VSCode to work on a project but the extension icon didn’t appear on the left bar (also the upload, test etc icons on the bottom bar weren’t there). So I tried:

• Uninstalling the extension, reloading, installing the extension;
  • uninstalling the extension and VSCode and reinstalling everything;
  • uninstalling the extension and VSCode, deleting every folder and file related to them, and reinstalling everything.

None of this worked. What can I do?

VSCode Menu > Help > Toggle Developer Tools > Console

Please provide an output or screenshot for the latest logs. Thanks.

Hello,

I have a similar issue.

I’m using PlatformIO on Windows 10 with VSCode version 1.73.1. Today (21.11.2022) I got an issue during an automatic update of the PlatformIO Core. To solve the issue I tried a new installation as follows:

• Uninstall PlatformIO from VSCode Extenssions
  • Stop VScode
  • Remove the directory “C:\Users\xxxxxxxx.platformio”
  • Start VSCode
  • Install PlatformIO IDE v2.5.5 Extenssion

The installation terminated with the following error:

Error: Error: Compatible PlatformIO Core not found.
Reason: Could not run C:\Users\xxxxxxxx\.platformio\penv\Scripts\platformio.exe --help.
Error: Error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Users\xxxxxxxx.platformio\penv\lib\site-packages\platformio_main_.py”, line 102, in main
cli() # pylint: disable=no-value-for-parameter
File “C:\Users\xxxxxxxx.platformio\penv\lib\site-packages\click\core.py”, line 1130, in call
return self.main(*args, **kwargs)
File “C:\Users\xxxxxxxx.platformio\penv\lib\site-packages\click\core.py”, line 1054, in main
with self.make_context(prog_name, args, **extra) as ctx:
File "C:\Users\xxxxxxxx.platformio\penv\lib…

Kind regards