Overwriting base includes

I’m trying to convert an arduino project to run on platform IO. I have a PR in for wifimulti that adds some functionality that I am using in this project. Where can I put the h and cpp files so the build includes my version of wifmulti instead of the repo version until they merge it?

Here are the docs on library folders. There are locations which are private to the project (lib_dir) and even to build environment (lib_extra_dirs). You should put your version of wifimulti in one of these.

That’s helpful. I’m very new to this.

Where/how do I tell the compiler to look in this folder for my version of wifimulti? I remember seeing a dialog for adding include paths but I can’t find it now…

I found the dialog. I tried adding the include path to both the top and bottom of the include list, but it’s still throwing the error saying that indicates that the compiler is not using this version.

I think your version of library should be one level below the lib_dir, just like all other libraries on your screenshot. That way you won’t need altering include paths.
By the way, you say you have added the include path, but it’s not visible on the provided screenshot.

1 Like

I’m not following you… Do you mean I should copy the cpp and h files directly into project/lib?

The include path is in a separate window:

Copying the files into project/lib didn’t work.

Definitely not, see my link to lib_dir description earlier. Every library should be put in its own subfolder. I’m not sure why PlatformIO cannot find your version of wifimulti, maybe @ivankravets or someone else from PlatformIO core team can help here.
But I see it’s placed deep inside the subfolder: esp32/libraries/wifi… Maybe moving wifi folder up would help? So that it’s located as lib/wifi?
Or, as a last resort, you can put the files into src folder, but it’s better to get it building as a separate library…