Not sure what format this code is in so how to use it?

Hi,

First post here and apologies if it’s in the wrong place.

I came across this CO2 monitor project:

I ordered the sensor, tacked it onto an ESP32 and used the basic code offered on the link above (I’m an old hardware / electronics tech, not a coder) to integrate the sensor into my Home Assistant setup using ESPHome and everything is working fine. :wink:

However, I would also like to build another using the LilyGO TTGO T-Display ESP32 (built in display) as shown in the link and using the stock code that comes with the kit version but understand the code is setup for PlatformIO and I have no experience of that IDE.

Or didn’t till this morning as I now have it all installed and have managed to install some simple code (Arduino Blink) to an ESP32 and that is also working fine.

So my question is how should / would / could I correctly make use of the code seen here please?:

I’ve tried opening the local folder (assuming it’s already in PlatformIO format) and that seems to work but I get errors when I try to compile so I’m probably doing it wrong?

Any pointers very welcome please. :wink:

Cheers, T i m

Ok, I think I might have got a bit further as I read elsewhere to try ‘Import Arduino’ rather than open and it seems to have worked to some degree (the code then uploaded to a generic ESP32 etc). I can’t tell if it worked fully as I don’t have the screen but I am confused why if it was in Arduino IDE format why the Arduino IDE didn’t work in the first place and why the mention of PlatformIO IDE?

Now I just need to wait for the parts to arrive and see how / where I configure the WiFi settings etc.

Cheers, T i m