Noob JLink Edu + Arduino Nano 33 IOT + PIO 5.01 Debugger woes

I’m trying to debug the above in PIO hosted by VSCode. I can upload a sketch and have it run, but debugging fails on a number of things and I’ve got to the point where I think it should work, but don’t know where to look to work out what I’ve done wrong…

I should mention I’m a noob at embedded development, but have tons of C/C++, Java etc.

So,

I’ve soldered leads to the 5 pads on the underside of the board and got them plugged into the jlink according like this.

I have a pio.init like this

[env:nano_33_iot]
platform = atmelsam
board = nano_33_iot
framework = arduino
upload_protocol = jlink
debug_tool = jlink

And a sketch like this:

#include <Arduino.h>

int i = 0;
void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
while (!Serial);
Serial.println(“Ready to start counting”);
}

void loop() {
if (i < 1000) {
Serial.println(i++);
}
}

I set a breakpoint at println immediately after the while, but when I run debug and F5 from the initial breakpoint the program stops at the

while(!Serial)

and I see

Program
received signal SIGTRAP, Trace/breakpoint trap.
0x000005f4 in ?? ()

If F5 from there, I get another SIGTRAP and am at the same place on the while. That’s as far as it gets.

When I look at the device monitor there’s nothing shown.

— Available ports:
— Enter port index or full name:

When I upload the sketch I can see a com port.

— More details at Redirecting...
— Miniterm on COM6 9600,8,N,1 —
— Quit: Ctrl+C | Menu: Ctrl+T | Help: Ctrl+T followed by Ctrl+H —

I’ve checked the soldering and my pin connections several times but apart from that, what have I missed???

May be related to Hang Starting nRF52840 Feather Express Under Segger Debugger - #8 by geeksville.

Yes, it was, many thanks for the link.