No light with FastLED, WS2812B and Arduino in PlatformIO (but with ArduinoIDE)

Hi MCU experts. I am quite new in the Arduino and PlatformIO universe, and I am faced with a strange issue. I am trying to address a WS2812B LED strip on an Arduino Uno R3 using the FastLED library. There is no problem when I use the ArduinoIDE, but I get no light at all when I use the PlatformIO with Visual Studio Code.

Experimental setup:

• tested with Arduino Uno R3 (original) and Arduino Nano v3 (clone)
  • VSC v1.63.2 (Win10)
  • PlatformIO v2.4.0 (Core 5.2.4 Home 3.4.0)
  • FastLED v3.5.0 (checked with some older versions as well)
  • example: FirstLight.ino with following changes
    #define NUM_LEDS 2
    #define DATA_PIN 6
    FastLED.addLeds<WS2812B, DATA_PIN, RGB>(leds, NUM_LEDS); // GRB ordering is typical
  • platformio.ini
[env:uno]
platform = atmelavr
board = uno
framework = arduino
lib_deps = fastled/FastLED@^3.5.0

I checked the output with a logic analyzer. When I compiled with ArduinoIDE I get the expected result (#000000 #ffffff delay #ffffff #000000 etc). The timing of one triple byte (#000000) is 30µs.

Same sample compiled with PlatformIO results in no light. But with logic analyzer I see #000000 #000000 delay #000000 #000000 etc. The timing is a little bit different: 46µs for a triple byte (#000000). All bits are well-formed zero bits.

Where is my mistake? Or is this a bug? I can’t believe that I’m the first one using PlatformIO for Arduino with FastLED library. Thanks in advance.

Full sample code:

#include <FastLED.h>

#define NUM_LEDS 2
#define DATA_PIN 6

CRGB leds[NUM_LEDS];

void setup() {
   delay(2000);
   FastLED.addLeds<WS2812B, DATA_PIN, RGB>(leds, NUM_LEDS);  // GRB ordering is typical
}

void loop() {
   for(int whiteLed = 0; whiteLed < NUM_LEDS; whiteLed = whiteLed + 1) {
      leds[whiteLed] = CRGB::White;
      FastLED.show(100);
      delay(100);
      leds[whiteLed] = CRGB::Black;
   }
}