New install, compiler errors

Trying to get a Marlin compile for a standard config from the examples from Marlin 2.1.1.

Complete newbie and have no idea how this system works. Installed all of the software as requested but now the compiler complains about missing files during auto build compilation even though they are present.
Error is:
arm-none-eabi-g++.exe: error: buildroot/share/PlatformIO/scripts/common-dependencies.h: No such file or directory
( but it is there ), followed by
arm-none-eabi-g++.exe: fatal error: no input files
One post here asked to delete the toolchain-gccarmnoneeabi folder and I did that, the compiler reloaded and rebuilt it but it made no difference.

Please help.

I don’t have a 3d printer, but I have compiled Marlin 2.0.x to help someone here a while back, step by step details at Why do I get this error everytime I try to build the new marlin firmware - #31 by NormanDunbar which might help.

Can you post your step by step details to see if we can help? Thanks.

Cheers,
Norm.

Here’s what I just did to get a default Marlin build, with no additional configuration etc. Just as downloaded.

• Go to Download | Marlin Firmware and download “Current Marlin Release” 2.1.1. Save to Downloads.

• Click “View/Download” link for the corresponding “Configurations” a new GitHub window will open. On the far right side, about 1/3rd of the way down, click “Latest” where it says “Releases (23)”. On the new window that opens, scroll down to “Assets” and click “Source Code (zip)”. Save to Downloads.

• Open your file explorer and create a Marlin directory somewhere. Copy the two downloaded files into this new Marlin directory.

• Right click and “extract here” or whatever you use on your system. Start with the Marlin-2.1.1.zip file first. This will create a Marlin-2.1.1 sub directory, if not, Delete everything except for the two zip files and extract again, with whichever option you need to keep the top level directory intact.