"Multiple definition of `main`" error when trying to create a library with dependencies

Hi,

First off, I’m quite new to the PlatformIO ecosystem and embedded systems programming in general, so apologies if this is a silly question.

I have created a library that depends on semver.c by specifying this in the library.json.

{
	"dependencies": [
		{
			"name": "semver",
			"version": "https://github.com/h2non/semver.c.git#bf2ac7567917c84fd2ff7393317a14caafa28796"
		}
	]
}

When I try and use my library in a (esp-idf framework) project however, the project fails to compile with the error

/home/user/.platformio/packages/toolchain-xtensa32/bin/../lib/gcc/xtensa-esp32-elf/8.4.0/../../../../xtensa-esp32-elf/bin/ld: .pio/build/esp32dev/libde3/libsemver.a(semver_unit.o): in function `main':
/home/user/Profile/tmp/esp32-experiments/platformio/helloworld/.pio/libdeps/esp32dev/semver/semver_unit.c:91: multiple definition of `main'; .pio/build/esp32dev/libde3/libsemver.a(semver_test.o):/home/user/Profile/tmp/esp32-experiments/platformio/helloworld/.pio/libdeps/esp32dev/semver/semver_test.c:677: first defined here

but all I have to do to make it compile is add this file to my main project (not the library) that does nothing and is never included:

#include <semver.h>

void this_is_never_used() {
	semver_t some_pointless_variable = {};
	semver_parse("x", &some_pointless_variable);
}

Does anyone know why this might be happening, and if there’s a better solution to the problem that doesn’t require including an unused file in the main project? Is there a better solution than this that I don’t know about?

It feels like when I use semver.c directly something in the PlatformIO stack is recognizing that I’m not using the test code and is stripping it out, but if I use it only in a library it’s trying to link the test code.

Thanks in advance for any advice! I’m happy to share more complete test projects that reproduce the problem if that would help.