Library.json - Relativ Path for Dependencies

Hi all,
I am quite new to PlatformIo and did not find and answer for the following situation: I have created a set of libraries. I keep them in one big library folder lib_folder. Within those libraries I have dependencies between them:
–lib_folder
|-- LibA (e.g. dependent to LibB)
|-- LibB
|-- LibC
|-- …
Therefore, I wanted to connect them in the library.json with the dependencies flag. E.g. let’s say LibA is dependent to LibB. Absolut paths are working fine, but in my case I want to use relativ paths for sharing the libs locally to others. It would be nice if someone can just execute ‘pio pkg install –l absolute\path\to\Lib_A’ and with a relative path (‘./…/LibB’) in the library.json LibB is found. I tried to add the dependencies with relative paths but I was not able to make it work. I also tried to use the Directories commands, but I did not find a way to make it work. Maybe you have some input here. Thank you!

Cheers
Sven

The use of relative paths is possible. However, these are relative to the current project!

Assume the following structure: There is a folder “projects”.
In this folder there is a subfolder “libStorage” and subfolders for the individual projects:

projects
|
|--libStorage
|  |--LibA
|  |  |--src
|  |  |  |-LibA.h
|  |  |  |-LibA.cpp
|  |  |-library.json
|  |
|  |--LibB
|     |--src
|     |  |-LibB.h
|     |  |-LibB.cpp
|     |-library.json
|
|--project1
|     |--.pio
|     |--.vscode
|     |--include
|     |--lib
|     |--src
|     |  |-main.cpp
|     |-platformio.ini
|
|--project2

You can install the LibA library with the command pio pkg install -l ../libStorage/LibA.
The dependent library LibB will be installed automatically with the following library.json:

{
  "name": "LibA",
  "version": "0.0.1",
  "dependencies": [
    {
      "name": "LibB",
      "version": "file://../libStorage/LibB"
    }
  ]
}

LibB/library.json:

{
  "name": "LibB", 
  "version": "0.0.1"
}
1 Like