Interesting results re: chronic ESP-PROG problems

Disclaimer: I am a beginner!

I have been tearing my hair out trying to figure out why the ESP-PROG is giving me so many problems. I have found many other threads about this asking similar questions with little/no progress, so I’m posting some findings here in case they are helpful.

TLDR: debugging seems to fail when the amount of written flash (or amount of memory used?) gets beyond a certain point; after that it continues to fail until a smaller sketch is uploaded in regular (not-debug) mode. Then you can upload the large sketch one time, but it will fail thereafter.

Me: ESP32-DevKitCVIE (WROVER-IE) on vscode/pio in linux. I’ve been debugging OK with the ESP-PROG on a project for a while. Recently it started getting more flaky: requiring restarting the ESP-PROG, unplugging and replugging things, etc. More recently it stopped working at all and I could not debug at all.

Main symptom is that after F5, it builds the project and the debugging console will hang after a “** Programming Started **” line and eventually bail with a lot of “timed out while waiting for target halted” / “Failed to wait algorithm” / “Target is already running an algorithm” / “Failed to start algorithm” etc.

Example where it goes off the rails:

** Programming Started **
** Programming Started **
Error: timed out while waiting for target halted
timed out while waiting for target halted
Info : [esp32.cpu0] Target halted, PC=0x400904F2, debug_reason=00000000
[esp32.cpu0] Target halted, PC=0x400904F2, debug_reason=00000000
Error: xtensa_wait_algorithm: not halted 0, pc 0x400904f2, ps 0x60025
Error: Failed to wait algorithm (-302)!
Error: Algorithm run failed (-302)!
xtensa_wait_algorithm: not halted 0, pc 0x400904f2, ps 0x60025
Failed to wait algorithm (-302)!
Algorithm run failed (-302)!
Error: Target is already running an algorithm
Error: Failed to start algorithm (-4)!