Inability to get a serial connection

This is what I get after the software detects the COM port in use:

Serial port COM4
Connecting....

A fatal error occurred: Timed out waiting for packet header
*** [upload] Error 2
The terminal process "C:\Users\Greg\.platformio\penv\Scripts\platformio.exe 'run', '--target', 'upload'" terminated with exit code: 1.
------------ 

What steps do I need to do to correct this? I am new to the program, but absolutely love what I see and would like to continue using it.

Thanks

Sorry, Vital info needed: Win10x64, desktop PC, Have tried both CMD and Powershell. I get replies from the board itself when I select the serial monitor icon at the bottom of the window. I got replies when I edited PIO ini file.

What board (buy link)? are you using with what platformio.ini? If it’s an ESP8266 or ESP32, have you manually put it into bootloader mode (FLASH and RESET)?

It is a WEMOS D1 ESP32 chip. I have tried a generic ESP board as well. I can program the board via ArduinoIDE on either of my two COM ports. The terminal shows Com back from the board, but obviously, the board isn’t getting programmed by PlatformIDE. I have reset the board repeatedly. It shouldn’t have to be in FLASH mode, if I understand the board correctly.
I did have to adjust the Platformio.ini to allow for coms at 115200, and that com rate works fine.
I was thinking of using an external Terminal program?? Like the built-in WIN10 terminal program?

By default PlatformIO will try a upload baud rate of

When you select this speed in the Arduino IDE, does the upload also not work?

It appears to try to com at that rate, but it doesn’t give anything but gibberish.
It looks like Chinese and numbers.

Where would I adjust the Com speed in PlatformIDE? In the .ini file?
I have set monitor_speed - 115200, but that only seems to adjust the comms between the board and the built-in terminal.

I found the file:
\users…\platforms\espressif32\boards\wenis_d1_mini32.json