How to 'view' multiple (or one) pin states as Watches

Hello; I’d be gratefull for any advise on the following…

I’m new to VSC, PlatformIO, the ESP32 and proper debugging - other than VB in Excel. As such, I’m on a very steep curve that has me struggling at most stages.

The first query I have is; given that compiling can change the order of variables etc, is there a way that stops optimisation completely - so that program flow is WYSIWYG - as they used to say. I’d like to not have lines oddly jumped and to not see variables “optimized” so that I never get to know their value starring at me. I found a reference and plucked the line “-fno-toplevel-reorder” from it and it seems to improve things - but not completely. I’ve also tried -og, -g and a few others - but with even less success.

I’d also like to know how to put a watch on GPIO pin 26 for example and it would be great to have a row of pin state feedback. I could try to find a way of not losing variables to the optimisation process, but a Watch sounds much cleaner to me.

Many thanks!

When you debug the program through the PlatformIO unified debugger, the program is automatically recompiled in debug mode, meaning not -Os optimization level is used (which does the reordering and optimizing), but -Og, (“optimize debug”). That should stop reordering.

Still, through debug_build_flags you can fully control what build flags are used for compiling in debug mode. The default is -Og -g2 -ggdb2 but you can change it to debug_build_flags = -O0 -ggdb3 -g3 to apply no optimizations (optimization-level 0 = “do nothing”).

If you upload normally (no debugging) though, it will be built with optimizations. To control the, see build_type = debug.