How to import/use custom arduino board for STM32L4

I am relatively new to PlatformIO (have successfully flashed some STM32s with mbed and arduino through the IDE) and some of the internal workings are a bit nebulous to me despite reading a bunch of documentation and searching through github.

I would like to use the excellent Arduino boards defined at GitHub - GrumpyOldPizza/arduino-STM32L4 from within PlatformIO (my goal is to create a PR for those boards for the community). The boards are:

• Dragonfly-STM32L476RE
  • Butterfly-STM32L433CC
  • Ladybug-STM32L432KC

When using the boards with the arduino IDE, I only have to add a the url https://grumpyoldpizza.github.io/arduino-STM32L4/package_STM32L4_boards_index.json to the board manager to then install support for the boards. Given that the arduino board definition already exists, how do I import it and use it from within PlatformIO?

As far as I understand, I want something like:

[env]
platform = ststm32
framework = arduino
board = Dragonfly-STM32L476RE

but how do I tell PlatformIO to use the board definitions from the specific github project?

It’s a little more complicated than that in PlatformIO. The basis is documented at Custom Platform & Board — PlatformIO latest documentation but then there’s also more platform-specific (here: platform-ststm32) involved in what boards are available, what Arduino core(s) is/are available and how it is built with SCons as the underlying build system.

So, it needs JSON board definitions, package files for the new Arduino core and Python code for building in order to pull in a new Arduino core which may have its very own special settings.

I’ll have a look at integration since it’s a long outsanding issue in that core.

1 Like