How to debug collect2 link error? (in Arduino_MKRIoTCarrier example sketch)

I’m using the sample sketch Custom_Sensitivity provided with the Arduino_MKRIoTCarrier library. When building, I’m getting collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

I’m struggling to pinpoint where the error is coming from or how to fix it. In the Arduino IDE this sample sketch compiles with no errors. I’m fairly new to PlatformIO so any suggestions or leads would be greatly appreciated.

My build output:

CONFIGURATION: https://docs.platformio.org/page/boards/atmelsam/mkrwifi1010.html
PLATFORM: Atmel SAM (6.2.0) > Arduino MKR WiFi 1010
HARDWARE: SAMD21G18A 48MHz, 32KB RAM, 256KB Flash
DEBUG: Current (atmel-ice) External (atmel-ice, blackmagic, jlink)
PACKAGES: 
 - framework-arduino-samd 1.8.11 
 - framework-cmsis 1.40500.0 (4.5.0) 
 - framework-cmsis-atmel 1.2.2 
 - toolchain-gccarmnoneeabi 1.70201.0 (7.2.1)
LDF: Library Dependency Finder -> http://bit.ly/configure-pio-ldf
LDF Modes: Finder ~ chain, Compatibility ~ soft
Found 25 compatible libraries
Scanning dependencies...
Dependency Graph
|-- <Arduino_MKRIoTCarrier> 1.0.1
|   |-- <Wire> 1.0
|   |-- <Arduino_BQ24195> 0.9.1
|   |   |-- <Wire> 1.0
|   |-- <Arduino_APDS9960> 1.0.3
|   |   |-- <Wire> 1.0
|   |-- <Arduino_LPS22HB> 1.0.1
|   |   |-- <Wire> 1.0
|   |-- <Arduino_LSM6DS3> 1.0.0
|   |   |-- <SPI> 1.0
|   |   |-- <Wire> 1.0
|   |-- <SPI> 1.0
|   |-- <Arduino_HTS221> 1.0.0
|   |   |-- <Wire> 1.0
|   |-- <Arduino_MCHPTouch> 1.1.0
|   |-- <SD> 0.0.0-alpha+sha.041f788250
|   |   |-- <SPI> 1.0
|   |-- <Adafruit GFX Library> 1.10.10
|   |   |-- <SPI> 1.0
|   |   |-- <Adafruit BusIO> 1.8.1
|   |   |   |-- <Wire> 1.0
|   |   |   |-- <SPI> 1.0
|   |   |-- <Wire> 1.0
|   |-- <Adafruit ST7735 and ST7789 Library> 1.7.3
|   |   |-- <Adafruit GFX Library> 1.10.10
|   |   |   |-- <SPI> 1.0
|   |   |   |-- <Adafruit BusIO> 1.8.1
|   |   |   |   |-- <Wire> 1.0
|   |   |   |   |-- <SPI> 1.0
|   |   |   |-- <Wire> 1.0
|   |   |-- <SPI> 1.0