How do I configure mbedtls within PlatformIO

I am new to PlafrormIO and have just successfully imported my ESP32 project from the Arduino IDE to PlatformIO to work on. I would like to configure a couple of mbedtls parameters which I was given to understand is possible in PlatformIO?

According to this information, I need a file called mbed_app.json in my project directory:
https://docs.platformio.org/en/stable/frameworks/mbed.html

However, where do I find this file? I have searched but cannot find even a template for it anywhere. At this stage I know nothing about mbedtls. I am only slightly aware of json and am new to PlatformIO. If I have to construct one, what is its format and where do I start?

Esspresif has an mbedtls configuration section in its menuconfig with lots of settings that can be tweaked, but in order to port the project it would have to be completely re-written. PlatformIO allows for an easy import, but where do I find the equivalent of the mbedtls configuration in PlatformIO?

Hm, you seem to be a bit on the wrong path here. If you’re using an ESP32 with the Arduino framework, then you’re not using the mbed(-os) framework. Mbed-Os doesn’t even support the ESP32. see mbed-os/targets at master · ARMmbed/mbed-os · GitHub. If you open the platformio.ini of your project you’ll very likely find framework = arduino, not framework = mbed. So the linked documentation page has nothing to do with what you need.

When you use Arduino-ESP32, mbedtls is already preconfigured by the ESP-IDF base that Arduino-ESP32 is built upon and inserted into the core using a static library. This is evident by the fact that https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/tree/master/tools/sdk/esp32/lib has the libmedtls.a and libmbedcrypto.a static library files and the config header files in https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/tree/master/tools/sdk/esp32/include/mbedtls.