Helps with PlatformIO .... it won't let me compile anything when I use it with VScode

Cannot start the C / C ++ language server. The IntelliSense features will be disabled. Error: Missing binary at c: \ Users \ jhordype \ .vscode \ extensions \ ms-vscode.cpptools-1.1.0 \ bin \ cpptools.exe

This is the error that gave me a few days ago, so that later the C / C ++ IntelliSense extension was completely gone, now I reinstalled the VScode and PlatformIO IDE from scratch, and now it does not compile or auto-complete anything, I need help from someone who can guide me I am new to VScode and maybe it is a bad configuration :(.

I would (have) deleted everything in that c:\Users\jhordype\.vscode folder before reinstalling VSCode. That way, you have a clean reinstall. If you need to do it again, perhaps that would help?

PlatformIO comes with it’s own internal version of Python, but I think it uses the system installed one by default. If you get into VSCode settings, and search for “platformio python” mine comes back with the option ticked to “use a portable python where possible”.

If yours is not ticked, have you restarted VSCode since installing Python and, more importantly, is Python on your %PATH%?

This post is how I installed VSCode and PlatformIO on Windows 10 a while back as part of another thread - it might help? Trying to install Platformio into VSCode, but it can't find Python, even though it is onboard! - #6 by NormanDunbar

Please let us know how you get on.

Cheers,
Norm.

Apparently I have a problem which has me confused, I do not know what the problem is, I have already got two failed attempts, this is the error that I get in the terminal when I want to do the compilation.

Executing task: C:\Users\jhordype.platformio\penv\Scripts\platformio.exe run <

That’s the command to compile your code. Was there an error message?

Cheers,
Norm.