Help Creating Custom Platform that builds and uploads custom firmware

Hello everyone!
For a personal project I would like to create a custom Platform that would allow me to automatically download, build and upload a custom WiFi firmware (nexmon) to a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B.
I am pretty new to platformio but I’ve read myself through the docs and looked at the examples and tried to reproduce some things but I just don’t really get the grasp of the general procedure and am kinda stuck at the moment, so I would really appreciate some help/pointing in the right direction.

What I did so far is:

1. Creating my nexmon-platform folder with the following structure
    • /nexmon-platform/
      • /boards/
        • /raspberrypi_3b.json
      • /builder/
        • /frameworks/
          • /nexmon.py
        • /main.py
      • /platform.json
      • /platform.py

Now to my problem:
I don’t really know whether my current approach is even correct. Since nexmon is supposed to be a firmware patch for the target board I figured it would fall under the category of framework so that I could specify in the nexmon.py how the firmware is build etc but I don’t really know how to go on from here or whether I am even going into the right direction so some advise in regard to downloading/building/uploading custom firmware with platformio would be much appreciated!.

The folder structure there look correct.

Technically we call the platform after the type of chips it compiles for – Nexmon only handles Broadcom chips (or Cypress as they’re bought up now?) so a name like platform-broadcom or platform-cypress would be more standard.