Having trouble compiling STM32F4 Discovery example code

Hey,

I just got an STM32F4 discovery board and I’m trying to compile some audio example code I found.

I’m able to compile and run basic LED blinking code using the mbed framework but I’m having trouble with the non-mbed stuff (I’m guessing cmsis?).

Here’s the project I’m trying to compile: STM32F4 audio example code on github

What I’ve tried:

1. Create new project: platformio init --board disco_f407vg
  2. Edit platformio.ini and set the framework to cmsis
  3. Copy the source from the github project into the src directory of my platformio project
  4. Compile with platformio run --target upload

At first I got an error that stm32f4_discovery.h was missing. I’m new to the STM/ARM world (I’ve only done basic arduino stuff), so I’m not sure how much of these libraries are included with platformio. Is there a way to get these standard STM32F4 discovery library files to be automatically included?

Anyway, through some digging I found that (and other) source files in that same github repo.

So I copied those source files over into my project, then tried compiling again. It gave me more errors of missing files, so I copied the other libraries. Eventually all the files were there, but now I’m getting lots of other errors.

Here’s a small snippet of the errors:

src/main.c:36:1: error: unknown type name 'RCC_ClocksTypeDef'
RCC_ClocksTypeDef RCC_Clocks;
^
src/main.c: In function 'main':
src/main.c:62:3: warning: implicit declaration of function 'RCC_GetClocksFreq' [-Wimplicit-function-declaration]
RCC_GetClocksFreq(&RCC_Clocks);
^
src/main.c:63:28: error: request for member 'HCLK_Frequency' in something not a structure or union
SysTick_Config(RCC_Clocks.HCLK_Frequency / 100);
^
src/main.c: In function 'TIM_LED_Config':
src/main.c:102:3: error: unknown type name 'TIM_OCInitTypeDef'
TIM_OCInitTypeDef  TIM_OCInitStructure;
^
src/main.c:103:3: error: unknown type name 'TIM_TimeBaseInitTypeDef'