Flash [checkprogsize] error on debugging with simavr, compiler options won't help?

Hi,
I have a weird initialization order fiasco (at least it looks like that) that I wanted to solve using the Debugger. I’m new to that tool so when I pressed the “start” button, I got the following error:
I thought that’s a quick one as a “release” compile would give me smaller size but even with compiler optimization set to -Os (optimized for size) would still give me near 130% which is why I cannot debug :cry:
I assume I cannot reduce size more because the debugger just needs the symbols. Just a bit disappointing as for complex projects flash useage of >50% “release” mode will most likely kill any try for a debug session.

Are there other Ideas I could try? My UnitTests are fine and the Inspector also tells everything OK (well, apart from size…) Else, I’ll go down the long and painful road of printfs.

And you controlled that via the debug_build_flags, not the regular build_flags?

You can also try and reduce the size of your firmware by cutting out your libraries / logic.

Yep, did that. image
To track down the segfault I wanted to keep all objects/libs in place. But maybe it’s quicker to remove them one by one than going through the println hell.

This still says build_flags and not debug_build_flags. I’d suggest debug_build_flags = -Os -ggdb3.

Whoops :sweat_smile:
But still

And it just got bigger :rofl:

What are the results for the size when you do a normal “Build” when you add

build_type = debug

or

build_type = release

respectively?

They should be the same size if the debug build flags are correctly applied…

Yes, they are, used in [env:nanoatmega328]

I mean the bad way. As soon as I set my normal build environment to debug, it will produce ~50% larger builds.
When I set it back to release I’ll get the “normal” results

Then I don’t see why this shouldn’t work if they now both build in debug mode.